Saturday, October 16, 2010

DREV Part 8: Delaying The Inevitable Uprise

*Deep sigh*

Once again, a few technical difficulties. Sorry about that. Aside from time  issues, rulings have been quite convoluted lately, mainly with Cards from the set we are currently reviewing. So let's get down to business and finish this set.

Let' start with the monsters, the first one being Earthquake Giant:

Once per turn, when the battle position of this card is changed, you can select 1 monster your opponent controls and change its battle position.

Giant has an Optional Trigger Effect. Don't let the "once per turn" wording confuse you, it's only there to restrict how many times you can activate the Trigger Effect. This effect targets an opponent's monster, and it will activate if Giant's position is changed manually or by a Card effect (even if you Flip Summon it).

Next, we have Effect Veiler:

During your opponent's Main Phase, you can send this card from your hand to the Graveyard to select 1 face-up Effect Monster your opponent controls. Negate the effect(s) of that monster until the End Phase.

Effect Veiler has an Optional Quick Effect which targets an opponent's monster. The effect negation is similar to Junk Synchron's, negating effects that activate or apply on the Field, even if the monster generating it is no longer on the Field. Flipping the monster face-down and then face-up will prevent its effects from being negated.

You can chain Effect Veiler's effect to the activation of the effect itself, providing the target is still on the Field after activation. So if your opponent Normal Summons Infernity Mirage, and tributes it as a cost to activate its effect, Effect Veiler's effect can't be chained to it, because the target is no longer on the Field. Regarding the expiration of the effect, it involves rules of priority, so it depends how you are and your opponent pass priority to each other during the End Phase.

Moving on, we have Dash Warrior:

If this card attacks, it gains 1200 ATK during the Damage Step only.

Dash Warrior's effect is Continuous. It begins applying as soon as you move into the Damage Step.

Then, we have Damage Eater:

During your opponent's turn, when your opponent activates a card or effect that would inflict damage, you can remove from play this card in your Graveyard to change that effect so it increases Life Points by the same amount instead.

Damage Eater has an Optional Quick Effect. You chain it directly to an effect that would inflict Effect Damage, and Removing it from Play is a cost. The effect cannot be activated during the Damage Step. The effect must be guaranteed to inflict Effect Damage, so you cannot chain this effect to Dice Jar or similar. The effect must also use the chain, so you cannot respond to effects like Skull Invitation. In the strange case in which Bad Reaction to Simochi is active, and an effect that would cause you to gain Life Points is activated, you cannot respond with Damage Eater's effect, because it can't resolve properly (damage cannot be converted to Life Point gain due to Simochi).

We also have A/D Changer:
You can remove from play this card in your Graveyard to select 1 monster on the field. Change its battle position.

A/D Changer has an Ignition Effect. It targets, and Removing it from Play is a cost. If you target a face-down Defense Position monster, it is flipped to face-up Attack Position. Do note that this is an Ignition Effect, so it cannot be activated during the opponent's turn.

Next, let's look at Stronghold Guardian:

If a Defense Position monster you control is attacked, during the Damage Step, you can send this card from your hand to the Graveyard to have that monster gain 1500 DEF until the End Phase.

Guardian has an Optional Quick Effect, which does not target. Sending it to the Graveyard is a cost, so it can't be activated while Macro Cosmos is active. It's similar to Honest, only that it increases the DEF of a monster. The monster must be in Defense Position when the effect is activated and when it resolves. However, the monster doesn't need to be in Defense Position at the time the attack is declared. So if your opponent attacks one of your monsters that has a lot of ATK but little DEF, and uses Book of Moon to exploit this, once you are within the Damage Step you can use the effect of Stronghold Guardian. This effect can be activated from the Start up to Damage Calculation included.

Moving on, we have Trident Warrior:

When this card is Normal Summoned, you can Special Summon 1 Level 3 monster from your hand.

Trident has an Optional Trigger Effect activated upon its Normal Summon. It can be negated by Pulling the Rug. The effect doesn't target, but you must have a valid monster to Special Summon.

Then, we have Delta Flyer:

Once per turn, you can select 1 other face-up monster you control and increase its Level by 1.

Flyer has an Ignition Effect. It targets, and the Level increase remains as long as the target remains face-up on the Field. This is not related to Delta Flyer's existence on the Field.

The last monster from this set is Ambitious Gofer:

Once per turn, you select up to 2 monsters your opponent controls. Your opponent can reveal 1 monster in their hand to negate this card's effect. If they do not, destroy the selected monsters.

Ambitious Gofer has an Ignition Effect. It targets up to 2 monsters. The opponent cna choose to negate it when the effect starts resolving
Now, let's look at the Spell Cards, starting with Blind Spot Strike:

Select 1 face-up Defense Position monster your opponent controls and 1 face-up Attack Position monster you control. The monster you control gains ATK equal to the opponent's monster's DEF, until the End Phase.

Strike targets both monsters. It can be activated during the Damage Step before Damage Calculation.

Then, we have Double Cyclone:

Select 1 Spell/Trap Card you control and 1 Spell/Trap Card your opponent controls. Destroy the selected card(s).

Double Cyclone targets both Cards. It cannot target itself. If one of the targets is missing, the other one is still destroyed. You can chain Double Cyclone to a S/T Card and choose that Card as one of its targets, even though it was already activated.

We then have some Equip Cards, one being Pestilence:

Equip only to a Warrior-Type, Beast-Warrior-Type, or Spellcaster-Type monster. Its ATK becomes 0. During each of your Standby Phases, inflict 500 damage to the controller of the equipped monster.

Pestilence has a similar effect to Shrink, or even better, Megamorph, due to its Equip Spell Card status. It forces a value into the ATK, to which you later apply all other necessary modifiers. Pestilence also has a Mandatory Trigger-like effect that inflicts damage.

The other Equip Spell Card is Cursed Armaments:

The equipped monster loses 600 ATK for each monster you control. When this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard, you can select 1 face-up monster your opponent controls and equip it with this card.

Cursed Armaments has an ATK reduction effect, but its most important effect is the second one. This one is an Optional Trigger-like effect. You can activate it if Armaments is sent to the Graveyard because it was sent there by a Card effect, or if the monster it was equipped to is no longer face-up. This second effect targets.

Note that this effect does not provide Spell Counters to Royal Magical Library, as only the Spell Card's effect is being activated, not the Spell Card itself. This means that you cannot get infinite Spell Counters by equipping this Card into an opponent's Gearfried the Iron Knight over and over.

We than have Wiseman's Chalice:

If you control no monsters, Select 1 monster in your opponent's Graveyard. Special Summon it. During the End Phase of this turn, give control of that Special Summoned monster to your opponent. The monster cannot be Tributed, or used as a Synchro Material Monster, while it is face-up on the field.

Chalice targets an opponent's monster in the Graveyard. Then, two conditions are set on the monster: It will return to the opponent, and it has certain restrictions on what it can be used for. If the monster is flipped face-down or Removed from the Field, the restrictions are gone. Note that the restrictions don't expire at some point, not even when the monster returns to the opponent. If you activate this Card's effect via Diamond Dude, you can activate the effect while you control a monster, but the conditions will still be placed on the Summoned monster.

We then have Summoning Curse:

When a monster is Special Summoned, the controller of that monster chooses 1 card in their hand and removes it from play. During each of your End Phases, pay 500 Life Points or destroy this card.

Curse has a Mandatory Trigger-like effect, which doesn't target. The controller of the monster is determined when this Trigger-like effect resolves, so if a player chains Enemy Controller to this Card's effect, that player must Remove a Card from Play. If multiple monsters are Summoned to the same side of the Field, that player only Removes from Play 1 Card, and if multiple monsters are Summoned to both sides of the Field, each player Removes from Play 1 Card. Since Summoning Curse needs to know who is controlling the monster, if the monster is Removed from the Field before Curse's effect resolves, Curse resolves without effect. Paying 500 Life Points is a Maintenance Cost.

The last Spell Card is definitely the most special Card of the set: Pot of Duality:

Reveal the top 3 cards of your Deck, add 1 of them to your hand, then shuffle the rest back into your Deck. You can only activate 1 "Pot of Duality" per turn. You cannot Special Summon a monster(s) during the turn you activate this card.

Pot of Duality reveals 3 Cards as part of its effect. The Cards are revealed even when you decide which one to add to your Hand and which ones to shuffle in the Deck. Pot cannot be activated if Thunder King Rai-Oh is face-up, and if it appears on the Field before Pot resolves, the Card that would go to your Hand is sent to the Graveyard instead. During the turn in which you activate Duality, you cannot perform a Special Summon before or after activating Pot, or in a chain to Pot of Duality. If you activate an effect that would perform a Special Summon and it is negated, Pot can be activated. However, if you initiate an Inherent Special Summon (such as Cyber Dragon or Machina Fortress) and it is negated, it will count as a Special Summon for Pot of Duality, much like how a negated Normal Summon counts as your Normal Summon for that turn. If you activate this Card's effect via Diamond Dude, you can activate another Pot of Duality and you can Special Summon monsters during the turn.

The first Trap Card left is Parallel Selection:
Activate only when a Synchro Monster you control is destroyed by your opponent (either by battle or by card effect) and sent to the Graveyard. Select 1 of your removed from play Spell Cards and add it to your hand.
Parallel Selection targets a Removed from Play Spell Card. The Synchro monster must be face-up when destroyed by a Card effect in order to activate Parallel Selection.

Next, we have Reanimation Wave:
Activate only when your opponent's monster declares a direct attack. Select 1 Synchro Monster in your Graveyard with a Level less than or equal to the attacking monster's. The Battle Damage you take from that attack is halved. At the end of the Damage Step, Special Summon the selected Synchro Monster from the Graveyard.

Reanimation Wave is activated upon Attack Declaration. It targets a Synchro Monster in your Graveyard. Then, it sets two conditions, one that will halve Battle Damage, and one that will Special Summon the Synchro Monster. In order to Summon the Synchro, the attack must proceed until the Damage Step, even if you don't take Battle Damage. The Special Summon doesn't use the chain. If a Card prevents you from Special Summoning (such as Archlord Krystia), you can still activate this Card to reduce the Battle Damage. Furthermore, Royal Oppression cannot negate this Card's effect, as it will not perform a Special Summon when it resolves, nor does the effect to Special Summon start a chain (even though it would be within the Damage Step).

We then have Barrier Wave:

Activate by Tributing 1 Synchro Monster you control when your opponent declares an attack with a monster. Change all Attack Position monsters your opponent controls to Defense Position. Afterwards, inflict damage to your opponent's Life Points equal to the DEF of the monster the attack was declared with.

This Card is activated upon Attack Declaration. Tributing a Synchro Monster is a cost. This Card does not target. You can only inflict damage if the attacking monster is still face-up, and if a monster was changed to Defense Position.

Moving on, we have Chain Whirlwind:

Activate only when a card on the field is destroyed by a card effect. Select 2 Spell/Trap Cards on the field and destroy them.

Whirlwind responds to the destruction of any Card on the Field by a Card Effect. Note that you don't chain it to a destructive effect itself. If Chain Whirlwind is about to be destroyed, there's nothing you can do. It targets 2 S/T Cards on the Field. It cannot target itself. It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.

As for another popular Card, we have Solemn Warning:

Pay 2000 Life Points. Negate the Summon of a monster OR the activation of a Spell Card, Trap Card, or Effect Monster's effect that includes an effect that Special Summons a monster(s), and destroy that card.

Paying Life Points is a cost. Warning can negate either:
-A Normal, Flip, or an Inherent Special Summon.
-The activation of a Spell/Trap Card or the activation of a Monster Effect that might Special Summon a monster.

The first situation is no different from Horn of Heaven. The second one is the one that confuses people the most. Solemn Warning can only negate the activation of a S/T Card (placing it face-up on the Field) if it will Special Summon a monster when it resolves. Not later, only at that time. For example, it can negate the activation of Call of the Haunted, because it will Special Summon a monster when it resolves, but it can't negate the activation of Geartown, Infernity Launcher, Supervise, etc. It also cannot negate Ignition-like, Trigger-like, or Quick-like effects of already-active S/T Cards. Being a Counter Trap Card, it can be activated during the Damage Step to negate effects like Mystic Tomato or Gorz the Emissary of Darkness.

We then have Anti-Magic Prism:

Activate only when your opponent activates a Quick-Play Spell Card. Select 1 card on the field and destroy it.

Prism responds to the activation of a Quick-Play Spell Card. It targets a Card on the Field. Not much else to say.

And for another Counter Trap Card, we have Chivalry:

Activate only during the Battle Phase, when the effect of an opponent's Effect Monster is activated. Negate the activation and destroy that card.

Chivalry is chained directly to a Monster Effect that activates, much like Divine Wrath. It can be activated at any point of the Battle Phase, from the Start Step to the End Step, including within the Damage Step. This means it can negate effects like Exarion Universe (Battle Step), Mystic Tomato (Damage Step), and the tag-out effect of Gladiator Beast Monsters (End Step).

And finally the last Card is Light of Destruction:

When an opponent's card effect sends a card(s) from their Deck to the Graveyard, send the top 3 cards of their Deck to the Graveyard.

Light of Destruction has a Mandatory Trigger-like effect. It will always send 3 Cards no matter how many Cards are sent by your opponent in the first place. If Macro Cosmos is active after your opponent sends Cards to the Graveyard, the Cards sent by Light of Destruction are Removed from Play. Note that Light of Destruction won't activate its effect if the Cards are sent to the Graveyard as a cost (such as with Card Trooper).

Well, that finally covers Duelist Revolution. Sorry for the long delay, guys Q_Q


  1. "If you activate an effect that would perform a Special Summon and it is negated, Pot can be activated."


    "However, if you initiate an Inherent Special Summon (such as Cyber Dragon or Machina Fortress) and it is negated, it will count as a Special Summon for Pot of Duality, much like how a negated Normal Summon counts as your Normal Summon for that turn."

    Basically, I'm not so sure about the "However". I don't think there is a difference.
    You tested?

  2. As for the Inherent Special Summon part, it is explained in our beloved Parallel World Fusion's rulings. It's tested too, yes.

    If you think about it, there's no difference other than the difference between Inherent vs. Card Effect. If I initiate an Inherent Special Summon, then it "has already begun being summoned", and from that point on, all one can do is negate the Summon itself.

    As for a Card effect, the effect must start resolving before Special Summoning the monster. Only if it resolves properly, it will begin Summoning monster. At that point, Card effects that negate Summons can't be activated (e.g., you can't use Black Horn of Heaven when Monster Reborn resolves). If one negates the effect or the activation of the Card effect that performs the Special Summon, then the Special Summon is never initiated. The difference with Inherent Special Summons is that in order to even announce an Inherent Special Summon, you have to initiate it.

    In simplier terms, Inherent Special Summons "skip one step" while compared to Card effects that perform a Special Summon. Inherent ones never need to confirm that they aren't having their effects negated by another Card, they simply initiate the Summon immediatly.

  3. I got some editing to do on another forum then.
    (OR I can keep this info to myself until I duel one of those guys and then throw this ruling in their face when it matters, hohoho...)

    Thanks for the info.

  4. Did you test the latter though? (S/S'ing eff has activation/eff negated.)
    Any rulings out there that support this understanding?

  5. Yes, it's been double-checked.

    I can't seem to find a explicit ruling about it. I don't know if it's meant to be "obvious", or if the ruling exists under a really obscure Card I haven't checked yet.